Often we expect traffic collisions to be mutually settled, but this is not always the reality. Twenty-five percent of traffic incidents are reported in Florida. In the year 2019, 19841 hit-and-runs took place in Miami-Dade alone, according to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles injury estimates.
No matter who is at fault, we want everybody to remain safe and follow the correct procedure when they’re involved in a hit and run accident.
Follow Important Measures with Fort Lauderdale Car Accident Attorney after the Hit-and-Run Incident and follow the given instructions
- Report the accident to the police and be truthful.
Contact the law enforcement authorities and file a police report. Getting a criminal report provides clear evidence of what has happened. Even if you don’t have a lot of details, filing a report can only help with your auto claims process.
- Take your photos. –
When you find damage to your vehicle, take pictures of it. It is also advised, for insurance purposes, to take photos of the incident, such as the surrounding traffic signs.
- Write down some relevant information. –
As you might be distracted after a hit-and-run, grab a pen and paper or your phone to jot down the incident, if possible.
- Call the police. –
Even though you feel like you do not have anything to report, calling the police and filing a report will help with your insurance claim. Just let the police handle it and have as much detail as you can.
- Search for possible witnesses to this. –
Also, a driver or another car may have noticed the accident and checked you out. Ask them if they’re going to wait with you so they can give the police a statement.
Another sort of hit and run accident is when you get incorrect details from the driver of the car that hit you. To stop being left in the dark, make sure to contact the police to file a formal report. Take down the license plate, build, model, and colour of the other car in case they want to drive away. You might also want to take pictures and/or videos of the scene if it’s safe enough to do so. If another adult passenger is in the wrong car, get their details as well if you need to track them down later. For more information contact a Fort Myers car accident attorney.
- Penalties if you are Hit and Runner:
When you were involved in a car accident where you unintentionally struck the other person, we realize that it may be nerve-wracking to have to deal with this situation. But never run away from the scene, as it could lead you to more trouble. The punishments for leaving the scene of a hit and run are as follows:
1.Property Damage – Second-degree misdemeanour, 60 days in jail, and a fine of $500.
2. Injury – second or third-degree felony, suspension of a license for 3 years, incarceration for up to 5 years, and a fine of $5,000.
3. Fatalities — First-degree murder, suspended license for 3 years, a mandatory sentence of 4 years in jail, up to 30 years in prison, and a fine of $10,000.
If you’re a hit and a runner or a suspect, stay on the scene to avoid facing any possible fines. If you reach a parked vehicle, leave a note on their windshield if the driver is nowhere to be found. Chances are some cameras have recorded your identity and your car. For more legal help call a Fort Myers personal injury attorney.
- Protecting Yourself and Loved Ones from Hit-and-Run:
One of the most unfortunate outcomes of a hit-and-run crash is physical injuries and subsequent medical costs for which victims are uncompensated. If you’re involved in a hit-and-run crash, the only hope for recovery may be the auto insurance policy you bought or the vehicle owner you’re with at the time of the accident injury.
Many California drivers don’t buy the Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist Coverage. This coverage, also referred to as UM Coverage for short periods, will provide compensation for your injuries if you have been injured by an uninsured or unidentified driver.
UM, Coverage is also a strong protection against the effects of hit-and-run collisions as well as reckless drivers who forgo the cost of their auto insurance policy for bodily harm. Try checking your policy or calling the auto insurance provider to ensure that you are safe from uninsured motorists and hit and run drivers.
- Contact YourAttorney Today:
While fleeing the scene of an accident is a criminal offense in Florida, drivers will still often panic and flee. Consider finding an experienced attorney who can help file a claim. At FloridaCar Accident Attorney is committed to supporting Florida’s families with any cases they may have made. Moreover, if you or a loved one were injured by a driver who had fled the scene of an accident in Florida, please contact us today for a free consultation.